Plot2Plan

Plot2Plan vs Floor Plan AI

Draft a free floor plan →

A credit-based AI floor plan generator: describe or draw a layout, edit it, and render it in 2D, 3D and photoreal visualisations. Plot2Plan is a narrower thing: it starts from a plot in Chennai, computes what the by-law allows on it, and drafts a plan inside that envelope which a validator has to pass. Below is what each tool says it does — with the pages we read and the date we read them, so you can check us.

Who each one is for

These are different jobs, and plenty of people should use both. This page is here so you can tell quickly which one your question belongs to.

Feature by feature

We read Floor Plan AI’s public pages on 4 September 2026 and recorded only what those pages say. Where they say nothing, the cell reads “Not stated” rather than guessing, and “Not on the pages we checked” means exactly that — not that the product cannot do it. Products change fast: if something here is wrong or out of date, email vinodhec@gmail.com and we will correct it.

What you might needPlot2PlanFloor Plan AI
What you start fromHow much you have to know before the tool is useful.YesPlot size, road width and facing — three taps. Or paste the listing text, or a photo of an existing plan, or a walkthrough video of a house that already stands.see for yourselfYesDraw it, describe it in text, or upload an existing floor plan, sketch or PDF to edit.source
Legal envelope for your plotSetbacks, FSI, height and the number of floors your plot actually allows.YesComputed, not guessed: for Chennai (CMA-R) plots, setbacks, FSI, coverage, the height cap and the resulting floor count come from deterministic code reading TNCDBR 2019, with the rule and clause cited (the guides publish the figures themselves). Outside Chennai you enter your own setbacks and we label them as yours, never as a by-law.see for yourselfNot on the pages we checkedNothing on the pages we checked describes computing setbacks, FSI, coverage or a floor count for a specific plot from a local by-law.source
Refuses a plan that breaks the rulesA drawing is only worth having if something checked it.YesEvery plan is checked before you see it: rooms inside the setbacks, no overlaps, coverage and FSI within the limit, the main door on the road-facing wall and actually reaching the road, staircase aligned across floors, wet rooms stacked, and every room reachable on foot from the front door. Failures go back for repair, and anything left over is listed on the plan rather than hidden.see for yourselfNot on the pages we checkedNothing on the pages we checked describes a generated plan being checked against building rules before you get it.source
Editable geometryWhether you can move a room, or only regenerate and hope.YesDrag a room, resize it, or ask in plain words (“swap the kitchen and the bedroom”). Every edit goes back through the same validator.see for yourselfYes“AI floor plan editing” is listed on every paid plan.source
3D view and walkthroughSeeing the massing and walking the rooms before you build.YesA shaded 3D model of the validated plan and a first-person walkthrough that can only walk where the validator agrees a door exists. Massing and daylight, not a photoreal interior render.see for yourselfYes3D layouts and walkthroughs, plus interior and exterior photoreal visualisations.source
CAD file and approval-drawing hand-offWhat your architect or draughtsman can actually open.YesA sanction-style A1 approval sheet (dimensioned plans, site plan, elevation, section, area statement, door/window schedule, title block) as PNG, SVG, print or DXF. Signature boxes stay blank — it is a starting document for a licensed professional, not a submittable drawing.see for yourselfPartly“DXF export” is listed on the paid plans, alongside PDF, PNG and JPG. No approval or sanction-style drawing sheet is described.source
Indian units and road widthsPlots here are quoted in feet, cents and grounds, on a 30 ft road.YesFeet and ft² by default with a metric toggle, plot sizes as 30×40, road widths in feet, cents and grounds in the guides, and costs in ₹ at Indian rates.see for yourselfNot statedNo India-specific units, land measures or road-width bands are stated.
Vastu guidanceGuidance, never a legality claim — but it decides layouts in India.YesA derived design-checks card: pooja, kitchen and master-bedroom placement by compass quadrant, plus natural light. Advisory guidance shown beside the plan — it never decides whether a plan is legal.see for yourselfNot statedVastu is not mentioned on the pages we checked.
PriceAs published on their own pricing page on the date we checked.YesFree during the beta. No credits, no card: plans, validation, 3D and the walkthrough, the approval sheet and the DXF all cost nothing today.see for yourselfYesStarter $9.99/mo (200 credits), Professional $24.99/mo (600), Enterprise $49.99/mo (1,500); one-time packs from $29.99 for 200 credits. Basic generation costs 1 credit, pro mode 4.source
Usable without an account or creditsWhether you can see the output before you sign up or pay.YesNothing is behind a sign-in except saving. You can generate, drag, validate, walk through and export while signed out.see for yourselfPartly“New users receive free credits to explore”; generations and the advanced exports otherwise run on paid credits.source

Pages read: floor-plan.ai · floor-plan.ai/pricing.

What Plot2Plan does that Floor Plan AI doesn’t

This list is generated from the same table — it can only name rows where our column is a plain yes and theirs is a sourced absence, so it cannot drift into a claim the table does not support.

The short version: for a Chennai (CMA residential) plot, the setbacks, FSI, height cap and the resulting floor count are computed by code from the Tamil Nadu Combined Development and Building Rules, 2019, with the clause cited — the AI is never allowed to invent a legal number, only to arrange rooms inside an envelope it cannot change. A plan that breaks it does not reach you.

What Floor Plan AI does that we don’t

If that is what you are after, Floor Plan AI is the better tool and you should use it. We would rather say so than win the click and waste your afternoon.

What our output actually looks like

Not a screenshot — the drawing below is rendered live by the same code the app uses, on a 30×40 ft Chennai plot with a 30 ft road, so this page cannot advertise output the product no longer produces.

Toilet39 ft²Living120 ft²Staircase42 ft²Master Bedroom133 ft²Foyer64 ft²Kitchen77 ft²6'-7"4'-7"6'-11"7'-3"4'-11"9'-10"4'-11"8'-6"5'-3"6'-4"4'-11"40'-0" (12.19 m)30'-0" (9.14 m)30 ft ROAD (EAST)NININDICATIVE DRAWING — NOT FOR CONSTRUCTION · FINAL PLAN PER SITE & STRUCTURAL CONDITIONS · CONFIRM WITH A LICENSED ARCHITECT
Ground floor, blueprint view: plot boundary, setbacks and the validated rooms.
Toilet4'-7" × 8'-6"Living14'-1" × 8'-6"Staircase4'-11" × 8'-6"Master Bedroom11'-6" × 11'-7"Foyer12'-1" × 5'-3"Kitchen12'-1" × 6'-4"6'-7"4'-7"6'-11"7'-3"4'-11"9'-10"4'-11"8'-6"5'-3"6'-4"4'-11"40'-0" (12.19 m)30'-0" (9.14 m)30 ft ROAD (EAST)NININDICATIVE DRAWING — NOT FOR CONSTRUCTION · FINAL PLAN PER SITE & STRUCTURAL CONDITIONS · CONFIRM WITH A LICENSED ARCHITECT
The same floor in detailed view — furniture glyphs and per-room dimensions in feet.

The 3D model, the first-person walkthrough, the A1 approval sheet and the DXF come off this same geometry. See the 3D walkthrough guide or the importer guide if you already have a house.

Other comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Is Plot2Plan a free alternative to Floor Plan AI?

For the residential-plot job, yes — and free during the beta, with no credits and no card. The trade is scope: Floor Plan AI will draw anything anywhere and render it beautifully, while Plot2Plan only draws a home on a plot, and only computes building-rule numbers for Chennai. If what you need is a picture, buy their credits. If what you need is to know what you may legally build and a plan that respects it, start with us.

Does Floor Plan AI check building rules or setbacks?

Not that we can see: on the pages we checked (4 September 2026) nothing describes computing setbacks, FSI or a floor count for a specific plot, or checking a generated plan against a by-law. That is not a criticism — it is a general-purpose design tool, and building rules are local. It does mean the plan you get is not evidence you may build it.

Both export DXF — what is the difference?

Floor Plan AI lists DXF export on its paid plans. Plot2Plan's DXF is free and comes out of a sanction-style A1 approval sheet: dimensioned floor plans with wall poché and door swings, a site plan with your setbacks, a front elevation, a section through the staircase, an area statement, a door and window schedule and a title block with the signature boxes left blank. It is the document you hand a licensed professional to start from, not a submittable drawing.

Does Floor Plan AI work for a plot outside Chennai?

Floor Plan AI is not city-specific, so nothing stops you drawing any plot anywhere in it. Plot2Plan is the opposite trade-off: our computed setback, FSI, height and floor-count numbers cover Chennai (CMA residential) only, because that is the one zone whose rule data we have verified. Bengaluru is deliberately paused until its by-law rows are verified, and for any other location you can enter your own setbacks — we then label every number as yours rather than as a by-law. We would rather cover one city honestly than fifty vaguely.

Try it on your own plot

Enter the plot size, the road width and which way it faces — the envelope, the plan and the validator’s verdict take about a minute, and nothing is behind a sign-in.

Draft a free floor planCheck a plot before you buy